Srpski

I witnessed parts of what Milan’s Coach calls the “Gypsy triathilon” yesterday. According to him, the gypsys run to Ada, the lake. Swim in it to get clean, and then steal bike to ride home. I didn’t quite get the joy of watching them steal bike to ride home, but there were quite a few out at the lake with us yesterday.

With much assistance, I said my first Serbian sentence today “Sedi na stolicu, i jedi pirinach” which loosely translated means sit in the chair and eat rice.  I’m really glad I said it to Milan’s dad because I think he stil thinks I pronounce his grandson, ( Milan’s nephew’s) name wrong. His name is Ogi, but Danilo, his two and a half year old brother calls him “odie.” So I call him Odie too because I think it’s cute. But, every time I say it in front of Milan’s father he says “O-GI. G, like Google. G !” So at the risk of making matters more confusing by explaining myself in English, I just smile and nod my head.

I’ve also learned to amuse most of Milan’s friends and family with my latest trick. He goes off on a long tangent and then ends by saying “Jel’ tako Meredith?” or “am I right?” and everyone has to try to fight the urge to clap and pet me when I answer “Da” or “yes”. I am such a Serb.

I could never say that I would want to trade the way I grew up in smaller towns, but downtown Belgrade is fabulous. Especially on weekend nights when the street vendors come out it’s impossible not to have a good time. There are magicians, jugglers, a bunch of artists, and musicians all over. If the shops and beautiful landmarks aren’t enough for you, there are people doing interesting things no matter which way you turn.

So just living the dream here, sightseeing, eating wonderful food, and going to the lake and practice every day.  Oh, and let’s not forget the Soccer, excuse me, futball.  For all who don’t know we are in the middle of a heated UEFA championship, which means every night from 8:45- 11:00, most of the European tv’s are on one channel. Last night of the quartfinals tonight with England and Italy.

Missing my Americanos. All my love back home. And for my friends, GET ON SKYPE! At a reasonable,  six hours ahead of you, hour.

Leave a comment